Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

In accordance with the charter granted to the University by the State of California in 1855, the Board of Trustees holds full legal power and responsibility for the operation of the University, consistent with its Bylaws.

The Board is a self-perpetuating body consisting of a minimum of 35 trustees but no more than 55. At least seven of the Trustees positions will be for Jesuits, including the Rector of the Jesuit Community at Santa Clara.

All members serve for five-year terms except for the President, the Rector of the Jesuit Community, and the Chair of the Board of Regents, who serve by virtue of their offices. The recent alumnus/alumna trustee's term is three years.


2021–22 Board of Trustees


Larry W. Sonsini

Vice Chair

Matthew Carnes, S.J.


Kristi M. Bowers


John C. Lewis

Luis Arriaga Valenzuela, S.J.

President, ITESO, Jesuit University of Guadalajara

Kristi Markkula Bowers '90, MBA '97

Director of Sales and Marketing, Kings Mountain Vineyards

Margaret M. Bradshaw '72

Executive Vice President (retired), Bridge Bank

Luis Calero, S.J.

Rector of Jesuit Community, Santa Clara University (ex officio)

Matthew Carnes, S.J., M.Div. '03

Associate Professor, Georgetown University

William S. Carter '71, M.S. '95

Xilinx Fellow Emeritus

Louis M. Castruccio '60

Partner Emeritus, Irell & Manella LLP

Howard Charney, MBA '73, J.D. '77

Senior Vice President, Cisco Systems, Inc.

Gerald T. Cobb, S.J., M.Div. '82

Associate Professor of English, Seattle University

Elizabeth Connelly '15

Recent Alumna, Medical Student

William Duffy '82

Chairman and CEO, BDA Sports Management

Kathleen Duncan

Community Volunteer

Stephen A. Finn MBA '76

Principal and Founder of Finn Capital

Rebecca Guerra '73, MBA '78

Human Resources Executive

Tim Haley '81

Managing Director and Co-Founder, Redpoint Ventures

Richard D. Haughey '72

Senior Consultant, Golder Associates Inc.

Molly Joseph '96

Chief Executive Officer, UnitedHealthcareGlobal; Executive Vice President, Global, UnitedHealth Group

Lisa Kloppenberg

Acting President (ex officio)

William P. Leahy, S.J., M.Div. '78, STM '80

President, Boston College

Heidi LeBaron Leupp '84

Community Volunteer

John C. Lewis


Robert Lloyd

Tech Industry Executive

Joseph M. McShane, S.J., M.Div. '77, STM '77

President, Fordham University

Jeffrey A. Miller '73, MBA '76

Chief Executive Officer, JAMM Ventures

Kapil K. Nanda

Founder and Chairman Emeritus, Infogain Corporation

Edward A. Panelli '53, J.D. '55

Judicial, Arbitration and Mediation Services

Risë Jones Pichon '73, J.D. '76*, Hon '20

Chair of the Board of Regents

Willem P. Roelandts

Gisel Ruiz '92

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer (Retired), Sam's Club, Walmart, Inc.

Stephen C. Schott '60

Citation Homes

Robert H. Smith

Principal of Robert H. Smith Investment and Consulting

Timothy Smith '68

President, Bob Smith BMW/MINI

John A. Sobrato '60

Founder and Chairman Emeritus, Sobrato Organization

John M. Sobrato '83

Chairman, Sobrato Organization

Larry W. Sonsini

Senior and Founding Partner, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

Steven Sordello '92, MBA '01

Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Emeritus, LinkedIn

Mary Stevens '84

Community Volunteer

Susan Valeriote '77

Community Volunteer

Gregory Vaughan

Managing Director, Morgan Stanley

Paul Vu, S.J. '11 M.Div., '12 S.T.L

Assistant Dean of Students, Loyola Marymount University

Agnieszka Winkler, MBA '81

Founder, The Winkler Group and Mazatlan Forum

*Ex officio