Skip to main content
Logo for Alumni

Arts and Entertainment

Andy Ackerman '78, TV producer and director, SeinfeldThe New Adventures of Old ChristineCurb Your EnthusiasmFrasier, Two and a Half Men, Whitney; co-producer, Cheers; producer, The Ellen Show; director, Perfect Couples, The Conners; winner, three prime time Emmys (was the youngest person to win an Emmy for technical achievement in editing at the age of 24); winner, Golden Globe; winner, two Directors Guild Awards

Michelle Ashford '83, Emmy nominated screenwriter and producer, HBO's The Pacific and Showtime's Masters of Sex

Max Baer, Jr. '59, actor, "Jethro" on The Beverly Hillbillies; film producer; writer; director

Michele Borba '72, M.A. '75Ph.D., author, Don't Give Me That Attitude!, Parents Do Make a Difference, Building Moral Intelligence, Unselfie; regular contributor, NBC's Today Show; anti-bullying activist (her proposal "Ending School Violence and Bullying" (SB1667) was signed into California law in 2002; motivational speaker

Jeff Brazil '85, Pulitzer Prize winning journalist; former staff writer, Orlando Sentinel; former writer and editor, Los Angeles Times; winner, Worth Bingham Prize; winner, Scripps Howard Award; communication director for the Digital Media and Learning Research Hub

Lindsay Bruce '10, former contestant, NBC's The Voice; recording artist (Apple Music, Spotify)

Blye Faust '97, producer, Spotlight (Academy Award winner, Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay); co-producer, The Queen Latifah Show

Ron Hansen M.A. '95, author, Mariette in Ecstasy (wrote the screenplay for the 1996 film adaption), Atticus (adapted into the film Missing Pieces), The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (made into a feature film in 2007)Exiles and Desperadoes

Paul Hoen ‘84, TV director and producer, Disney Channel TV programming: Luck of the Irish, Jump In!, The Cheetah Girls: One World, Dadnapped, Camp Rock 2: The Final Jam, Ned's Declassified School Survival Guide, Let It Shine, Jonas; director, Sabrina the Teenage Witch; winner, two Director's Guild Awards

Khaled Hosseini '88, author, The Kite RunnerA Thousand Splendid SunsAnd the Mountains Echoed, Sea Prayer; founder, The Khaled Hosseini Foundation (nonprofit to provide humanitarian assistance to the people of Afghanistan); U.S. goodwill envoy to the UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency

Jerry Howarth '68, former radio broadcaster, Toronto Blue Jays; winner, Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame's Jack Graney Award

Dana Jang '70, program director, Digity San Jose; former program director, NextMedia Group; former radio personality, various Bay Area and San Jose radio stations including Live 105, KOME, and KSJO, among others

Francisco Jimenez '66Ph.D., author, Taking Hold, The Circuit, Breaking Through, Reaching Out; professor, 2002 U.S. Professor of the Year, CASE (Council for Advancement and Support of Education); winner, David Logothetti Award for Teaching in Excellence from Santa Clara University 

Neal Jimenez '82, movie screenwriter, Where the River Runs BlackRiver's Edge; director, The Waterdance; winner, two Independent Spirit Awards (Best First Feature, Best Screenplay) for The Waterdance 

Jorma Kaukonen '64, guitarist, Jefferson Airplane, Hot Tuna; member, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Ron Lagomarsino '73, movie director, My Sister's KeeperRunning MatesDinner at Eight; stage and TV director, Joan of ArcadiaMy So-Called LifePicket Fences (winner, 1993 Directors Guild of America Award), Driving Miss Daisy, Pretty Little Liars, Switched at Birth, Ghost Whisperers, Baby Boom, Hart of Dixie

Michael Malone '75, MBA '77, author; current columnist, ABC News, op-ed contributor, The Wall Street Journal; former columnist, San Jose Mercury News, Fortune, The New York Times; former editor, Forbes ASAP; producer, Emmy-nominated T.V. mini-series The New Heroes

Kelly Moore '87, author, Deadly MedicineAmber HouseNeverwas

Shemar Moore '92, producer and actor, S.W.A.T.; TV actor, Criminal MindsYoung and the Restless (winner, Daytime Emmy Award, Outstanding Younger Actor in a Drama Series); host, Soul Train

Alex Nesic '96, actor, Sleeper Cell

Barry O'Brien '79, TV writer, CSI MiamiJudging AmyHanging with Mr. Cooper, Alvin and the Chipmunks, Ghostbusters; executive producer, Hannah Montana, Gone, Guys Like UsBetween Brothers, Touch, Intelligence, CSI: Miami

Ted Templeman '66, record producer, produced for major artists such as Aerosmith, Carly Simon, Eric Clapton, Van Halen, Van Morrison

Lex van den Berghe '85, final contestant, Survivor Africa; contestant, Survivor: All-Stars

Tyshun Wardlaw '06, director, Growing Up Milwaukee, Hummingbird: A Sister's Courage; production manager, The New Jim Crow: Majority Rules

Adam Zotovich '97, Broadway producer, The Color Purple, The Addams Family, A View From the Bridge, Driving Miss Daisy, Of Mice and Men, Legally Blonde (musical), Dear Evan Hansen, An Act of God; performer, Contact, Fiddler on the Roof

Join us on Facebook  Follow us on Twitter  Follow us on Instagram  Join our network on LinkedIn  Switchboard Logo

My Santa Clara  Watch us on YouTube  View on our Photos on Flickr  Watch us on Vimeo  social media bronco exchange